Day 1 Atkins – Menu Rewrite

Ok, so I’m here to let you know how my first day went!Atkins 30-Day Challenge

Actually it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I woke up early this morning and went to my local Wal-Mart to stock up on everything I would need.

Much of my shopping list was based upon the sample menu, I created yesterday.

That was all well and good until I realized that the sample menu I created WAS NOT within the guidelines of the Induction Phase!

YIKES!

In my defense, I did create the sample menu at about 3a.m. this morning and was only partially lucid from a particularly grueling week at work.

Anywho, I noticed my serious error when I tried to actually follow the menu today.

The problem with my original sample menu is that the net carbs (NC) for the day was about 13.6 g and I wasn’t taking in a sufficient amount of (12-15 g NC) from the foundation vegetables mentioned on the Atkins website.

With that error recognized, and easily rectified (since I had the correct vegetables on hand) I’ve created a revised sample menu.

Check it out!

Sample Atkins Phase I Menu
Breakfast Net Carbs
2 Eggs, large
3 Brown ‘n Serve Original Frozen Sausage Links 2 g
1 Tbsp. (28 g) Kraft Naturals Shredded Cheese 0.5 g
1 C. Herbal Tea
OR
1 Atkins Advantage Shake 3 g
1 C. Herbal Tea
Snack
1 Sugar-Free Jell-O
Lunch
Turkey or Beef  Soup
   -1 C. Low-Sodium Chicken Broth 1g
   -1/2 C. Water
   -1 C. Bok Choy 0.8 g
   -1 stalk celery, diced 0.8 g
   -6 oz. ground turkey or beef, sauteed
Dinner
6 oz. ground turkey or beef, sauteed
1 C. Brussel Sprouts, roasted 9.6 g
1/2 C. Kale, roasted 2.4 g
2 Tbsp. Kraft Greek Vinaigrette with Feta Cheese OR
Kraft Blue Cheese Dressing OR
Kraft Caesar Italian Dressing
2 g
19.6 g NC
(13.6 g NC from foundation vegetables)

Atkins 30-Day ChallengeDaily Diary:

Drinking lots of water throughout the day greatly helped me retain a feeling of fullness, stay hydrated, and not have any cravings.

The only thing I noticed that was really strange was as serious case of the chills this morning after breakfast.  Now granted, it’s still Winter and I live in the northeast of the US, but I found that I couldn’t get warm no matter what this morning! I finally got sick of it after about an hour and took a hot shower to see if I could warm up.  It worked!

Other than that, nothing else wayward or strange occurred.

My energy levels are about the same as normal.

Chat with you tomorrow!

Related Posts:

 

photo credit: ~Jetta Girl~ via photopincc

photo credit: nicora via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

