62 Days to Change: Day 4 – It’s About Focus…NOT About How You Feel!

Tap into Focus!

Screw how you feel…tap into your mind and practice focus!

This morning I woke up around 9 a.m. after a fitful night of sleep.

I spent more than my allotted hour working on my daily writing habit (hint: I aspire to become an author one day) and went to bed late (again!).

Anywho, when I decided it was time to drag myself from my comfy bed, I went and took my pre-workout supplement and did my 20 minutes of visualization.

After changing into my workout clothes and popping in my contacts, I was off to another vigourous workout session!

During the first workout, which was abs and lasted about 10 minutes, I noticed I was feeling groggy and didn’t really feel like working about.

Fitness QuoteShaking that feeling off, I proceeded to my next workout, which was 50 minutes of kickboxing-style cardio–Turbo Jam: Cardio Party, Mix 3 again.

Within about 5 minutes I could already feel a sense of dread that I was not going to be able to finish.

But I refused to let that feeling stop me!

I prayed to God for strength and energy, and got a marvelous revelation.

My consistency and commitment to working out has nothing to do with how I was feeling!

You see I quickly understood that being tired is a physical limitation that you have to hit and surpass in order to tap into your own internal abilities of focus.

Being physically tired while doing this intense program really forced me to focus all of my attention & internal conversation on keeping good form, breathing, encouraging myself, etc.

Fitness Quote 2

This is my new mantra…it takes focus to get to this place!

The great news is I made it through the workout and I had great form until the end!

This got me to thinking about the whole matter of focus.  In recent months, I’ve noticed my own ability to focus has been greatly weakened by the stresses and turmoil that were going on in my everyday life.  With that thought in mind I’ve decided to use my time during physical exercise everyday to also practice regaining my focus and concentration…a skill I greatly need while struggling to study for some professional certifications.

Well that’s all I have for today, check with you tomorrow!

Related Posts:

 

photo credit: MiamiFitnessTV via photopin cc
photo credit: Arya Ziai via photopin cc
photo credit: Arya Ziai via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

