26 Weeks to Change – Day 16: Walk That Walk

Brisk Walk

Brisk walking on a treadmill to re-start my cardio was more tiring than I thought!

Today’s Workout:

  • :15 Brisk Walk @ 3.5mph

Yesterday was indeed a wonderful day!

I went to see the doctor about my ankle and he said it was healing/recovering well.  He told me that whatever I was doing to keep it up because it seemed to be strengthening the muscles of my ankle exceptionally well.  I explained I was on this yoga kick and tried to practice either yoga or Pilates on a daily basis.  He said I can begin doing more athletic workouts but I need to start S-L-O-W-L-Y. Brisk walking was his recommendation to start for cardio purposes so as not to put too much stress on my ankle.

To celebrate (and also to relieve my back from a slightly enthusiastic mix of yoga and Pilates yesterday), I decided to go for a brisk walk this morning.  I’m totally not an outdoor exerciser, so I opted to hit the treadmill in the gym of my apartment building in the early morning hours.

I thought it best to start out, as suggested, slowly so I went for a moderate pace workout.  Not quite sure where to start I figured fifteen minutes was a good starting number and boy am I glad I did!  I started at 2.5 mph at a zero incline and worked my way up to 3.5 mph for the majority of the workout.  And the results were…

  • The good news: my ankle felt fine afterwards,
  • The bad news: my shins and feet were killing me!

Needless to say I’ll be hovering at the fifteen minute mark for my walking workouts for the next week or so until I’m feeling better and experiencing less pain afterwards.  Once again this just proves that being out of shape sucks and I’ll never take a four month hiatus from exercise again!

Check in with you tomorrow!

photo credit: elkit via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

